<u>Woodhaven – Edgemont Homeowners Association (HOA)</u> <u>Annual General Meeting Minutes</u>

Date:Thursday, April 15, 2021Time:6:45 –7:00 pm Sign-in
7:00 – 8:56 pm MeetingFormat:Virtual (Zoom)

Attendees:	 Blair Dagg, President Krystal Brodeur, Treasurer Corey McEachern, Director, Communications Committee 	 George Alvarez, Director, Communications and Beautification Committees Matt Klassen, Director, Maintenance Committee
Other	 37 Participants and 11 Proxies 	
Guests:	City of Edmonton Councillor Sarah Hamilton	

- 1. 7:05 pm: AGM address by Councillor Sarah Hamilton
- 2. Call to Order
 - Introductions of the current board members
 - AGM Secretary and Scrutineer
 - Secretary Corey McEachern
 - Scrutineer Matt Klassen
 - Housekeeping items
 - Voting
 - a. Will be done using Zoom polling.
 - b. There can only be one vote per household even if more then one
 - household member is attending the Zoom meeting.
 - Motions
 - a. Members in attendance are welcome to motion and second voting items on the agenda. For the AGM, we will only be voting on items that are part of the agenda. No other motions will be accepted.
 - b. If you are presenting a motion or seconding a motion, raise your hand and you will be instructed to unmute.
 - c. After a motion receives a second, the motion will be open to the membership for discussion.
 - d. If you would like to discuss a motion, please raise your hand. You will be instructed to unmute, at which point you can address the board and the membership.
 - e. If there are multiple members who would like to discuss a motion, discussion will be in the order in which hands are raised.
 - f. Those speaking out of turn will be muted by the panel.
 - General Discussion
 - a. Members will have an opportunity to speak during General Discussion, but to ensure orderly discussion, we ask that participants raise their hand indicating they would like to speak.
 - b. To ensure equal opportunity for questions, discussion will be limited and should additional information be required, it will be distributed to members by April 29, 2021.
- **3.** Notice of meeting and verification of Quorum and Proxies Matt Klassen confirmed we have quorum including those attending by Zoom and those who have assigned a proxy, and that their proxy is present in the Zoom meeting

- **4.** Adoption of minutes of June 4, 2019 AGM Vote
 - Motion Matt, Second Krystal.
 - Title of Poll: Adoption of minutes of June 4, 2019 AGM
 - Question to membership: *Are you in favour of accepting the minutes from the June 4, 2019 AGM posted on the Woodhaven-Edgemont web page?*
 - 1. Yes or No
 - 2. Motion passed unanimously.
- 5. Presentation of Audit Reports and Financial Statement for the years ended December 31, 2019, and December 31, 2020
- 6. Appointment of Cass and Fraser Chartered Accountants, as auditors for the 2020 and 2021 fiscal years
 - First motion is for 2020: Due to COVID 19 and the inability to hold the 2020 AGM, the Board chose Cass & Fraser for 2020 which now requires a confirmation vote from the membership.
 - Motion Krystal, Second Brandon Beaudry.
 - Title of Poll: Confirmation of Cass & Fraser as the auditor for 2020
 - Question to membership: *Do you confirm your acceptance of the boards decision to appoint Cass & Fraser as the auditor for the 2020 fiscal year?*
 - 1. Yes or No
 - 2. Motion passed unanimously.
 - Second motion: To appoint Cass & Fraser Chartered Accountants as the auditors for 2021
 - Motion Krystal, Second Judy Parker.
 - Title of Poll: Appointment of Cass & Fraser as the auditor for 2021
 - Question to membership: *Are you in favor of appointing Cass & Fraser as the auditor for 2021?*
 - 1. Yes or No
 - 2. Motion passed unanimously.
- **7.** Election of Directors
 - There are nine seats available on the Woodhaven-Edgemont HOA board of directors.
 - This evening, we currently have 10 members who have expressed their desire to serve on the board.
 - This evening's election is comprised of:
 - The six current board members, and
 - Four community members who have put their names forward:
 - 1. Anthony Olivares
 - 2. Jessika Dubon
 - 3. Toni Laurie
 - 4. Jessica Palsat
 - At this time we would like to confirm your interest to serve on the board.
 - If one member drops out, no vote is needed.
 - If all members want to run, we need a vote and move to Voting.

- Are there any other members present in this evening's Zoom event, who would like to put their names forward?
 - If there are no additional names and one of the four members above have removed their intention to run, no vote is needed.
 - If there are additional members, they will need to be added to the Zoom voting list.
 - If a vote is needed, move to Voting.

8. Voting

- Upon voting completion, move to general discussion while votes checked and confirmed.
- The following members have expressed their interest to fill the nice seats, with the length of terms and positions to be decided by the Board at their first meeting:
 - 1. Blair Dagg
 - 2. Darcy Weiss
 - 3. Krystal Brodeur
 - 4. Corey McEachern
 - 5. George Alvarez
 - 6. Matt Klassen
 - 7. Anthony Olivares
 - 8. Jessika Dubon
 - 9. Toni Laurie
 - 10. Jessica Palsat
- Toni Laurie withdrew her name. She will continue to serve on the Beautification Committee.
- The nine remaining candidates were voted in, unanimously.
- 9. General Discussion
 - Entrance sign: Wildlife fencing. Place sign there?
 - Naturalization of the pond. 91% voted "No" to City's extended naturalization; 9% voted "Yes".
 - HOA landscaping budget and beautification committee initiatives.
 - Sidewalk clearing during the winter: damages observed.
 - Common fence painting.
 - Fences are 15 cm on owner's property.
 - Should we/do we work with the Edgemont Community League?

10. Motion to terminate the AGM at 8:56 pm.

• Motion – Corey, Second – Darcy.

11. Newly elected HOA Board to meet on Monday, May 10, 2021, at 7 pm.

President	Blair Dagg
Vice President	Darcy Weiss
Treasurer	Krystal Brodeur
Secretary	Jessica Palsat
Incoming Treasurer	Jessika Dubon
Director	Anthony Olivares
Communications Committee	George Alvarez, Corey McEachern
Maintenance, Landscaping Committee	Darcy Weiss, Matt Klassen
Beautification Committee	George Alvarez